5 Things I Would Miss in Linux Mint

30 07 2009

mintbubbleSo after my last post, I figured it would be interesting to ask myself, “what would I miss in Linux Mint?” if I were to go back to Windows Vista today.  I came up with 5 nontrivial things.

As a note to some of my more technically-inclined readers, I do at least understand that Linux Mint is really just another distribution (or flavor as I’d prefer to describe it) of Linux and a multitude of other software applications.  But for the vast majority of people, an operating system is an operating system is an operating system. I don’t think they would be  any more interested in knowing what GNOME is any more than Windows Vista’s DWM (yes I had to google that for the sake of writing it!).

Here’s my list:

  1. Expose / Windows Picker.  Shows me all my open windows with a quick push of a button. It’s like neatly laying out all my notes and paperwork on my desk in a nanosecond.  Very useful when I feel like I’ve got too many things going on.  I loved it on OS X, and I love it on Mint.
  2. Multiple desktops, and I have four.  It’s like having four separate tables to throw all my stuff on.  So I can put all my project A stuff here, project B stuff there, and all my personal notes and emails over there.  Wonderful! I’ve seen a co-worker use a virtual desktop on Windows, but it wouldn’t be a fair comparison because I believe he had to get an additional application to get that working.
  3. Virus-free. Ah the sense of freedom one gets not to see an annoying message popping up saying “your subscription is about to expire” or “Virus detected!” is almost indescribable.  I can rant a thousand words about past experiences with losing data due to a virus–and you’ll probably nod your head in empathy–but maybe in another post.
  4. Files don’t get mysteriously locked. Sometimes I have no clue why Windows won’t let me delete or move a file, or even unplug my USB stick when I tell it to “safely remove [my] hardware”.  And I seriously get infuriated whenever that happens.  Never in Linux!  Mount, unmount, mount, unmount — once I got the hang of it, I’ve started to appreciate it.
  5. No defrag. Like most (some?) responsible Windows users, I would probably need to defrag my hard drive every so often to keep my system running smoothly.  With Linux, that’s one less thing to worry about because Linux apparently defrags files on the fly.  Don’t ask me how, but doesn’t that feel so much simpler?

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 07 2009
Links 31/07/2009: PCLinuxOS LXDE (PCLXDE) 2009 is Out, Microsoft Worries About GNU/Linux | Boycott Novell

[…] 5 Things I Would Miss in Linux Mint So after my last post, I figured it would be interesting to ask myself, “what would I miss in Linux Mint?” if I were to go back to Windows Vista today. I came up with 5 nontrivial things. […]

7 08 2009
david

I got the title wrong. I thought that you meant you miss these things in linux mint, but then I read the thing about virusses and defrags and i got it… Nice tough 😀

Leave a Reply

