Upgrading from Mint 6 to 7 (versus a fresh install)

20 06 2009

upgradeWhen I started this experiment with Linux Mint version 6, which is affectionately called “Felicia” by its creators, little did I know that version 7 “Gloria” was just around the corner.   When it was announced that Gloria was released, I did what any well-trained-by-Microsoft/Apple-to-always-update-your-system  computer user would do.  So I upgraded using the instructions here.

Normally, as modern wisdom goes, you should do a fresh install to clean up your system.  I chose not to because of:

  • Tweaks for my Thinkpad As I mentioned in one my first blog posts, I had to fix a few snags to get my Thinkpad X200 to work properly with Mint.  Fixing them took a bit of time.  And while the second time is always easier, I didn’t have the luxury of time to redo them.  Fixing the display resolutions, tweaking battery life — stuff that I had already fixed.
  • Customized settings. Email accounts, browser bookmarks, even saving your account settings in your favorite Instant Messenger.  Although there are several guides online that make it easy to transfer these types of settings, I just don’t want to spend time on that if I don’t have to.
  • Upgrading works for others. Ah, the beauty of the Internet and particularly with open source users.  Mint users were already giving their upgrade success stories on the instructions page which gave me the confidence to say, “if they can do it, so can I!”

Granted, upgrading could be a whole lot simpler and more user-friendly.  The steps could also be a little more polished for the average person (seeing millions of lines of text scrolling right by you begs one to scream, “what’s the computer saying?!?!”) But the instructions were written in a straightforward enough  manner.

The upgrade was relatively successful.  I hit a big snag with my display driver which made the interface feel really annoyingly slow (not the fault of the upgrade though; either way, I would probably have had the same Intel driver issue as discussed here and here).  But that’s for another post.

Actions

Information

One response

23 06 2009
Why Did I Upgrade Again? « Open Daily

[…] pointed out in an earlier post that I did a not-so-simple-but-easy-enough upgrade from version 6 to 7.  Since upgrading, I faced […]

Leave a Reply

